DIY Etched Whiskey Glasses

DIY Etched Whiskey Glasses

I needed a creative idea for a Christmas present for my whiskey-loving beau. I bought him his favorite whiskey, some fancy-schmancy whiskey stones, but still needed something else. So off to Pinterest I went, where I got inspired to make him his own personalized set of whiskey glasses.

DIY Etched Whiskey Glasses

What You’ll Need:

  • Contact Paper
  • Stencil
  • X-acto knife
  • Glove
  • Set of glassware (You can get a cheap set at Walmart, Target)
  • Glass etching cream (I used Armour Etch brand which I found at Michael’s)

Instructions:

  1. Wash the glassware to get rid of any dirt, dust, grease, etc.
  2. Create a stencil from your contact paper.
    • Cut the image/letter(s) you want to etch out of the contact paper. You can use a premade or homemade stencil to trace onto the contact paper.
    • To cut out the “C”s, I found a font I liked on MS Word, printed the “stencils” out, and then placed the printed pages behind the contact paper to trace and cut out with an X-acto knife.
  3. Place the contact paper stencil onto the glassware. Make sure to rub down all the edges. You don’t want any of the etching cream to leak.
  4. Put gloves on and make sure you are in a well ventilated room. The etching cream is very potent and…harsh.
  5. Place the etching cream within the stencil, where you want the glass to be etched. Lay it on as a  very thick layer and let sit for 5-8 minutes (or however long the instructions on your etching cream say).
  6. Rinse off with water and peel off the contact paper stencil. Voila! Make sure to wash the glassware afterwards with soap and water to make sure all the chemicals are gone.

Let me know what else you etch and about your (hopefully) successful projects!

2 thoughts on “DIY Etched Whiskey Glasses

  1. Debbie / Daqa says:

    I’ve got a few glass-etching projects on my site as well. The actual etching is fast and easy, it’s the preparation that’s holding me off from etching more! And I can’t choose designs…
    A tip for getting the most out of the cream: use a wooden popsickle stick to apply it, and when it is time to rinse it off, scrape it off with the stick and put it back in the jar, it can be reused again. Your jar will last way longer!
    I’ve collected some more tips on my site (can’t remember though if it’s in dutch or english or both), but I’m happy to see some more glass etching projects :).

Leave a Reply

